Real Estate Professional forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Agency, owner lose license in ethical scandal

Notify me of new replies via email
Real Estate Professional | 27 Jan 2016, 08:15 AM Agree 0
Regulators caught the agency manager engaging in several ethical and legal breaches after conducting a review of his business
  • Mike MacLean | 31 Jan 2016, 04:20 PM Agree 0
    in 1987 I was a Realtor with an independent real estate office in Calgary when the Police walked in and shut the office down arresting the owner/manager which resulted in a lenghty jail sentence for trust fraud and much more. After he got out of jail the Calgary Real Estate Board gave him his licence back!!!! I was stunned seeing how 80 plus Realtors lost over a million dollars in commissions. In Alberta if your office goes under because of fraud none of the Realtors associated with the guilty brokerage don't get the good fortune of having their commissions insured. Twenty nine years later I still feel this is not fair to the Realtors. Just before Christmas 2015 Royal Lepage Foothills collapsed affecting 165 Realtors and now there are rumours those Realtors are going to loose commissions as well. I thing the industry needs to change so that unless the Realtor is directly responsible for the fraudualant act their commissions should be insured.

Mike MacLean
    RE/MAX Real Estate (Cental)

Hopefully the Realtors with this Brokerage won't loose the commissions they work so hard for.
  • challenger | 31 Jan 2016, 10:28 PM Agree 0
    Commissions are protected if you are in Ontario!
  • Radha Nagarajah | 02 Feb 2016, 09:19 AM Agree 0