Real Estate Professional forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

BC amalgamation decision comes in

Notify me of new replies via email
Real Estate Professional | 07 Dec 2016, 02:19 PM Agree 0
Members have voted – will BC’s six real estate boards band together under a new association?
  • VIREB 40+YRS | 07 Dec 2016, 03:50 PM Agree 0
    I'm a LONG time Realtor and this idea was deemed to fail, once the Realtors of the Province became aware that for over a year, the so-called insiders, were having behind closed door meetings. Hiding from their members what they were doing. Openness, could have made a difference. They never disclosed to US, what money they sent flitting around the Province, conger ring up these plans. Their first clue should have been, when they could only get 6 Boards to participate. I could go on, but, I'll close with the old adage, IF IT AIN'T BROKE, DON'T TRY TO FIX IT.
  • voted yes - less than 50 years | 07 Dec 2016, 04:32 PM Agree 0
    In the words of Hilary Clinton, this was supported by the popular vote of over 50%. However, it was not fully supported by the 75% needed to fulfill the requirement needed by some boards to amalgamate. There will always be those who cannot visualize the long view that change is important for we are in an ever changing world. But each year they drive the latest model BMWs, Lexus, and Mercedes and not horse and buggies. They use IPADs and Iphones, DocuSign and IdentiSign. They elect representatives but want to micromange their recommended decisions. Like western gun slingers, they have drawn guns, slain some enemies and innocents, have travelled to the saloon, drank fully but no longer are able shoot straight through their bleary eyes. Meanwhile the West changes and future generations will too soon forget the legends.
  • Fred Gorley Royal LePage Prince George | 07 Dec 2016, 04:53 PM Agree 0