Real Estate Professional forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

CMHC releases report on foreign ownership

Notify me of new replies via email
Justin da Rosa | 07 Apr 2016, 11:17 AM Agree 0
The Crown Corporation released its latest Housing Markets Insight Report Thursday, which focuses on the foreign investment
  • James Oberian | 07 Apr 2016, 01:18 PM Agree 0
    ...I'm a YVR realtor and I don't believe that stat for a second. When I attend new-build presale realtor events 90% of the realtors in attendance are Chinese and when I take clients to view presale product 90% of the people there are Chinese also. It's truly massive amounts of Chinese money that is the prime mover fueling this crazy real estate frenzy. Everything trickles down from there (I'm aware there are other factors as well...). And it is also a question of semantics. What is "foreign ownership"? If you're defining it as actual "foreign nationals" then the figures might be that low. However recent landed immigrants or families with "astronaut" breadwinners are making up the overwhelming bulk of the buyers. But where's the money coming from? Was it made in Canada? No, for the most part it wasn't. In some way, shape or form it was 'foreign-derived". I live on the West Side of Vancouver and we have had a steady "demolish/build new 5000 sq. ft. structure" merry-go-round here for the last 4-5 years. And virtually 100% of those have been recent Chinese immigrants (most speak hardly a word of English), many of the homes are not lived in (except for maybe the teenage kids going to school here). So what are they? Are they "Canadian" or are they "foreign"? They're both. "Legally" they're Canadian because they have landed immigrant status. In fact they're foreign, because they've just moved here and the income for their lifestyle is derived from China - and the breadwinner works in China. There is very little interaction between them and the loc