Real Estate Professional forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Finance minister addresses housing bubble fears

Notify me of new replies via email
Real Estate Professional | 20 May 2015, 03:40 PM Agree 0
Canada’s finance minister says the country’s real estate market has avoided the so-called bubble, with many markets already experiencing a soft landing.
  • | 20 May 2015, 04:51 PM Agree 0
    This is the biggest load of nonsense. I'm a realtor, and have an economics degree and a CPA, CA. We are most definitely in a bubble. The market is purely being driven by sentiment. Once/if that sours, this will turn ugly rather quickly in my estimation.
  • Lyn Smith | 20 May 2015, 06:58 PM Agree 0
    Time to return to your "real" career. I have been selling real estate for 30 years..... Things are heated and will calm. The result of a heated market does not necessitate a crash. Sheesh.
  • | 20 May 2015, 08:35 PM Agree 0
    Canada is a very desirable place to live; especially given the turmoil in many countries. Wealth is moving from many of those countries into Real Estate. Just look at athe changing demographics of the Buyers in many of the "hot" areas. In some countries (e.g China.. You can never own the land; the government has complete ownership.) Immigrattion is for the most part driving this market.
  • Martin | 20 May 2015, 10:45 PM Agree 0
    I personally believe that the Bank of Canada is making broad sweeping rules based on what is happening in Toronto and Vancouver which are having a negative impact on other areas of the country. It is well known that these two areas have a high immigration rate which is driving up the value of property.