Real Estate Professional forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Want fries with that Realtor?

Notify me of new replies via email
Real Estate Professional | 14 Oct 2015, 08:15 AM Agree 0
Real estate agents should consider more than just their commission when trying to woo clients
  • Scott Simmons | 14 Oct 2015, 12:29 PM Agree 0
    I'm guessing the 8 years I have spent as a "discount" realtor is just a short time and the services I provide tend to be as much or more than most of my "non discount" colleagues. Most do not have 200 or so pages on their web site with 100s of hrs of podcast and 700 plus videos of the local area. The reason I work as a 1% Realtor is a certain segment of the market needs and or wants a deal on commissions and we offer it. We do not offer less service and or less negotiation skills than other agent. Personally I spent a decade running my own business and negotiated over 200 plus wage packages and millions in procurement. To suggest minimum effort is for minimum commission is rather sweeping. Here is the fact on discount Realtor companies like 1%; what they cut out is the big office with the big board room, you know the place the one with all the leased BMW out in the parking lot. After 8 years with 1% I have only been to the office once. They do not provide office space to hang out in and mostly all the 1% agents I know don't have time to hang out they are too busy writing deals and making sales. If we need to talk to our broker and or office staff they are only a text or email away. 1% is a lean model that seems to work well for our clients and our hundreds agents. The role of the Realtor and role of the broker is changing. So many of the buyers and or sellers and doing so much of what used to be done by agent it's not surprising so many want to pay a little less. When was the last time a client walked into a real estate office and said they wanted to buy or sell a home?